Term 2, 2024

Term 2 Dates: Monday 29 April to Friday 5 July



Primary Cross Country at Hauroko Valley Primary School

HVP, WAS & Thornbury Schools



Primary Western Cross Country – Otautau



Southland Cross Country




National Area Schools Practise – Dunedin

Sunday/Monday 16-17th June




Girls in Hi-Viz to Manapouri

YR 7&8 Young Einstein





Public Holiday – No School




Last day of Term 2



Area Schools – Nationals – Te Awamutu

July 7 – 11, 2024



Term 3 Begins



Parent-Teacher-Student Interviews




Parent-Teacher-Student Interviews





Term 3 Dates: Monday 22 July to Friday 27 September 

Term 4 Dates: Monday 14 October to “Date to be confirmed”

Our Environment

Waiau Area School is a Year 1 to 13 co-educational, composite Area School located in Western Southland; 81km west of Invercargill. It is the only Area School in the Southland Region.
Andrew Pardoe-Burnett is the Principal.

Location: 47 Orawia Road, Tuatapere, SOUTHLAND 9620

Telephone: +64 3 226 6285


School Hours: M-F: 8:50am – 3pm

Learn By Doing

At Waiau Area School we work hard to ensure that learning happens for all students, that learning is accurately measured, that evidence is gathered, and most importantly that students and their parents know where they are going next in their learning. Students relish the chance to experience success. It helps establish a desire to learn and builds important learning skills like persistence.

The staff of Waiau Area School have developed curriculum schemes from Year 1-13 that reflect the diverse needs of our students.

The Latest …

Waiau Area School Staff 2024

Our property upgrades are almost complete. Areas on the radar are: C Block replacement double glazed windows, to build a tennis/netball pavillion/covered area along the main courts and a deck outside the staffroom.

We’re very excited about 2024 (current roll of 147 students) and what WAS is able to offer our students. We are able to provide a wide range of subject choices in the senior school with Net NZ (online teacher) as an additional option. Our small class sizes, teachers knowing their learners and a strong sense of belonging are proving to be an on-going success – our student achievement results continue to be very pleasing. 90% of our NCEA students passed last year.

Strategic Goals: Sustaining partnerships, Mental Health & well-being (Sir John Kirwan’s Mitey) second year programme, Culturally Responsive approaches and continuing on broadening our students horizons through our localised curriculum.

Thank you for your continued support towards WAS – we’re all very proud of your community school.

Teaching Staff

Mr Andrew Pardoe-Burnett – Principal and Hard Materials Teacher.
Mr Richard Bennett – Senior Leadership Year 11-13, Health & PE, Gateway, Net NZ, PB4L coach.
Miss Jasmine Quinn – Senior Leadership Year 7-10, English/SS, SENCO and DP duties.
Miss Clare Robinson – Senior Leadership Year 1-6, Classroom Year 4 Teacher, Bus Controller.
Miss Brooke Anderson – Classroom Release teacher for one-two days a week.
Miss Skye Walton – Year 2&3 Teacher, Te Reo/Tikanga Maori responsibilities.
Mr Chris Wedderburn – Year 5&6 Teacher.
Mrs Donnah Cleaver and Mrs Gemma Bennett – New Entrant -Year 1 Teachers and Mrs Cleaver is also a specialist teacher for a couple of students.
Mr Deon Hourston – Year 7&8 Teacher, Agriculture & Horticulture Teacher.
Mrs Hannah Wilson – Art, Horticulture and Year 7&8 support Teacher.
Mr Paul Maloney – Maths Teacher, NCEA and Principal’s Nominee.
Miss Alicia Davie – Science – Chemistry, Biology & Physics Teacher.
Mrs Roberta Gover – Home Economics, Senior English and Free Lunches in Schools (FLIS) leader.
Miss Jordan Paskell – English and SS Teacher.
Mrs Ines Ferguson – WAS counsellor.
Mr Trevor McIntyre (during Term 2&3) – Alt Education, Careers & relieving.

Support Staff

Mrs Charmaine Wedderburn – Office Manager and Finance.
Ms Nina Smith – Office Support and BoT Secretary.
Mrs Robyn Stanning, Mrs Jo Flynn, Ms Chenille Kennedy, Ms Nina Smith, Mrs Mel Templeton and Mrs Rachel Pardoe-Burnett – Teacher Aides

Mrs Chrissy Lampitt – Library Manager.
Mr Warwick Hawley – Property and Hard Materials.
Mrs Paula McLennan, Mrs Lynette Chambers and Miss Gemma Evans – FLIS.
Mr Richard Hazle – Lab Technician and Science Support.
Mrs Anne-Marie Erskine, Mrs Cheryl Baldwin and Ms Chenille Kennedy –
School Cleaners.
Ms Chenille Kennedy – Lawn mowing.

Board of Trustees (BOT)

Rachael Poole – BOT Chairperson and Finance.
Keri Potter – PTA rep / Policies and Procedures / Self
Matthew McLennan – Regular visits/check ins, Property and H&S.
Raissa Hewton – PTA/Community link, Good Employer/EEO.
Jim Keating – H&S and Property.
Oli Abbott – Student Rep and Student Achievement.
Charmaine Wedderburn – Staff Rep, Self Review and Student Achievement.
Andrew PB – Principal.

FLIS 2024 Term 1 Menu

Free Lunches in Schools - Term 1 Menu

WEEKS 3, 5, 7, 9, 11

Monday: Mexican-style Tacos

Tuesday: Chicken Nuggets & Salad

Wednesday: Sweet & Sour Meatballs & Rice

Thursday: Chicken Sandwich

Friday: Pizza

Fresh fruit daily. Muffins and/or biscuits twice weekly

Snacks: vegie sticks, hummus, yoghurt

WEEKS 4, 6, 8, 10

Monday: Butter Chicken

Tuesday: Savoury Mince & Mash Potato

Wednesday: Chicken Salad

Thursday: Teriyaki Beef Pockets

Friday: Bento Bowl

Fresh fruit daily. Muffins and/or biscuits twice weekly

Snacks: vegie sticks, hummus, yoghurt

WAS KiwiSport Funding

kiwisport logo

Students participated in organised sports. In 2022 the school received KiwiSport funding for Year 1-8 of $1,083.00 and $1,443.80 for Year 9+ (2021 $2,369.40).

The funding has been used to increase students participation in many sporting opportunities, such as basketball, volleyball, netball, rugby, biking and kayaking. The Y1-8 KiwiSport funding has also been used to promote swimming and increase water confidence and skills

our Mission

Live to LEARN, LEARN to Live


We celebrate the inclusion of all key stakeholders: students, staff, community, local iwi, board of trustees, to create the new and exciting future for Waiau Area School. We acknowledge benefits of forming a positive working relationship with local iwi and the commitment we need to make to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.




Get In Touch

Location: 47 Orawia Road, Tuatapere, Southland

Telephone: (03) 2266285


School Office: M-F: 8:30am – 3:30pm

School Day: M-F: 8:50am – 3pm